2012 Bah Humbook: Virtual Gift Exchange

HumbookHappy Xmas to all my readers. This is the day that those participating in the 2012 Virtual book exchange make the announcements of their selections. Let the games begin!

For a refresher, participants select a partner, or as Emma states a copinuate for a virtual book exchange. Emma and I also planned to “exchange” virtual books with participants and  so we selected a title for each participant with both Tom and Leroy landing two apiece as they were not exchanging but still wanted to join in.

For Himadri from Argumentative Old Git, we picked Novel with Cocaine by M. Ageyev. Emma pointed out that Himadri loves Nabokov and should like this choice. There’s a theory that Nabokov actually wrote this book. I’d argue not, but let’s see what Himadri has to say on the subject.

For Brian from babblingbooks, Emma and I select Samuel Johnson’s Rasselas, Prince of Abyssinia. Brian likes books that contain philosophical ideas, so he should love this novel. It’s one of my top books of all time.

For Gummie from whisperinggums, we selected Stephen Benatar’s Wish Her Safe at Home. Gummie, I think, likes the quirky, so she should really like this. Well I hope she does…

For Lisa from ANZlitlovers, it’s The Murderess by Alexandros Papadiamantes. Emma’s pick on this one, but I must say that it looks good.

For Tony from Tony’s reading list, we select Father Goriot by Balzac. No more visiting my blog and telling me that you’re going to read Balzac one of these days…

For Stu from Winston’s Dad. It’s The Pets by Bragi Olafsson. Stu reads a lot of books in translation, and he wasn’t easy to pick for. Let’s hope this one is a hit.

For Leroy, an avid reader and commenter, Emma selected: In the Absence of Men by Philippe Besson and The Chatelet Apprentice: The First Nicolas Le Floch Investigation.

For Tom from A Common Reader: A Slight Misunderstanding by Prosper Mérimée (we both loved it) and The Road to Los Angeles by John Fante (I haven’t read the latter, so that was Emma’s pick).

Emma and I also agreed to select two books for each other, so for Emma:

E.M. Forster’s Howard’s End. Selfish on my part as this is one of my favourite novels, and I’m sure Emma will love it too.

Marilynne Robinson’s Housekeeping.

Both of these have been made into excellent film versions, and they were both alternate choices from last year’s virtual book exchange. I’m hoping that Emma hasn’t read either of them and that she will find these two books as wonderful as I did.

Anyway, thanks to everyone who has stopped by during the year. Happy reading!

17 Comments

Filed under Blogging

17 responses to “2012 Bah Humbook: Virtual Gift Exchange

  1. Housekeeping is on my piles as well and Howard’s End is an absolute favorite. I’m sure she will enjoy them.

  2. Ooh, I love the sound of my gift Guy … and have already ordered it from ABE books. Thanks a bunch … watch out for my review (some time in the not too distant future I hope.)

  3. Hello,

    A big thank you for the books.
    Actually, I had an Ivory binge in my teens and loved Howard’s End, which proves you perfectly know what kind of books I like. I will read it again, this time in English. It will be great to read the book in the original, my English wasn’t good enough the first time I read it.
    I’ve never heard of the second one, I found a kindle version. I’m sure I’ll enjoy reading it. It’s going to be a surprise and you know how much I enjoy blind dates with books.

  4. PS: have you seen what Lisa picked for us?

  5. Brian Joseph

    Merry Christmas everyone!

    Thanks for organizing!

    The Samuel Johnson book, along with Himadri picks look perfect for me.

    I will be starting the books soon! Reading them will hopefully be as much fun as choosing them!

  6. acommonreaderuk

    Thanks for that Guy. I am very pleased with the choices as I haven’t hear of either of them! I have downloaded the Fante book onto the Kindle and have bought a cheap second had copy of A Slight Misunderstanding.

  7. leroyhunter

    Thanks to you both for selecting 2 for me – will try to order them up and get stuck in.

  8. Thanks very much for this recommendation. I hadn’t, I confess, even heard of this book, but it seems intriguing: I’ll get started on it as soon as I can. (I’m so glad you chose it for me because you thought I was into Russian literature rather than into cocaine… :) )

    And a very Happy new Year to you all!

  9. Pingback: “A Romance with Cocaine” by M. Ageyev « The Argumentative Old Git

Leave a Reply

