Victorian Secrets: Publisher

No, I’m not talking about lingerie, so keep your smutty thoughts to yourself.  I’m talking about a publisher I recently came across and I wanted to spread the word:

VICTORIAN SECRETS

A small, independent UK based company obviously going against the flow, and for that reason alone, they deserve some support. My regular readers know that I read, reviewed and thoroughly enjoyed two novels by George Gissing: New Grub Street and The Odd Women.   I was lucky enough to have long-ago purchased print copies of these books on my shelf. Yes, if you have a kindle, Gissing is available FREE, and while there’s a lot to be said for e-versions, these new Victorian Secrets critical editions have their advantages too. Some of us like to read those 19th century multi-plot Victorians in a print version with introductions and notes.

Victorian Secrets have several other Gissings in print:

Demosdemos

Thyrza

ThyrzaWorkers in the Dawn

workers in the dawnVictorian Secrets has some interesting non-Gissing titles too, so I encourage all you 19th century fanatics to take a look. Some of their titles are pleasantly and tantalizingly obscure. And here’s their latest release:

Not wisely but too well

13 Comments

Filed under publishing

13 responses to “Victorian Secrets: Publisher

  1. Very interesting. Thanks for sharing.

  2. I follow them on Twitter: @victoriansecret
    Since we’re sharing about Victorian things, at the moment, there’s an exhibition in Paris at the Musée Jacquemart André entitled “Désir et volupté à l’époque victorienne” I plan to go, I’m curious.

  3. I love it when books come back into print. I also love little essays and notes that accompany books such as this.

    The covers also look fantastic.

  4. Pretty covers, I’d not realised VS published so many Gissings so I’ll be sure to take a look. I have the Broughton on my shelf here already, I read about her when I was interested in authors popularised and/or banned by circulation libraries but haven’t yet dipped into Not Wisely. I’m thinking it’ll count for my 19th century of books reading challenge in the new year. :)

  5. There’s a George Moore too and several I’d never heard of. I bought the Broughton too.

  6. Fay Weldon

    Dear Guy Savage,re Victorian Secrets: (Thank you for reviewing my novel Kehua! so thoroughly and favorably. I was much encouraged.) Just to say that though I know it’s eight years years out of time, The New Countess, third of a historical trilogy, revolves round the seedier aspects of Edwardian publishing. The more things change the more they stay the same.Anyway I assiduously follow your recommendations. Couldn’t get hold of the Vera Caspary, though. Amazon denied all knowledge. .Best, Fay Weldon

    On 13 October 2013 16:32, His Futile Preoccupations or The Years of Reading

  7. I have The New Countess on pre-order and intend to read the trilogy when I have all three books in hand. The other two have been sitting here.
    I’m delighted you stopped by as I’ve always wanted to tell you, since ‘finding’ you in the late 80s, how much your books have meant to me and added to my life. Lives and Loves of a She-Devil showed me the advantage of making lists.

    As for Vera Caspary, most of her stuff is sadly out of print but there seems to be a revival afoot with new kindle versions and a reprint of The Man Who Loved His Wife scheduled for next year. I’d try Bedelia, Laura or her autobiography, The Secrets of Grown-ups. She was a hell of a woman and lived in incredible times. Her character comes through loud and clear in the autobiography.

  8. Thank you very much for your lovely blog post! Victorian Secrets is a labour of love, so your comments are greatly appreciated.

    • And your books are appreciated. I was talking with another blogger about VS and the possibility of perhaps you reissuing some George Meredith. Anything we could know about on the horizon?

  9. Jonathan

    These look interesting Guy, thanks.

    In the past I’ve tended to ignore British nineteenth century authors, preferring French (Zola,Maupassant), Russian (Dostoyevsky, Chekhov) and more recently, German (E.T.A. Hoffmann, Stifter) authors from that century.

    I’m slowly coming round to reading more British authors though. From your reviews the Gissing books look particularly interesting

  10. I’ve probably been the opposite. Had a diet of British 19th C (not complaining) with the occasional French author thrown in–the more famous ones ie Madame Bovary, Hugo etc but it took leaving the halls of ‘higher education’ to really spread out on my own. I mean how many times do you have to take classes on Shakespeare, Dickens etc before OD’ing on them? That is a complaint.

    Can’t recommend these two Gissings high enough.

    • Jonathan

      I never studied literature; I think it would have driven me mad. One of the benefits is that I just read whatever I want but the downside is that it’s all unstructured.

      Re Gissing, The Nether World looks intriguing. Have you read it?

      • Studying literature, for me, was an indulgence. Couldn’t believe I’d land a degree at the end of it. What a deal. It was disappointing at times, however, to get the required book list and see some of the same names AGAIN. That didn’t happen all the time, but it happened in the lower ‘survey’ classes. Later it got better. I could dump Shakespeare and Dickens and pick and choose a bit more periods or authors I was particularly interested in.

        No I haven’t read The Nether World but one of the commenters praised it highly. I’m saving it until next year. Already have a print copy of it.

Leave a Reply

