44 Scotland Street: Alexander McCall Smith

11 Comments

Filed under Fiction, Mcall Smith Alexander, posts

11 responses to “44 Scotland Street: Alexander McCall Smith

  1. My mother loved Alexander McCall Smith, and he was a gift to me as well because he would reliably produce a new book every year as a Christmas gift for a woman who had everything.

    That might sound cynical but I heard him at a festival once, and I honestly think that he’s just a bloke who likes writing stories.

  2. I’ve read most of his work and it’s all pretty good. Isabel Dalhousie, Detective Varg, 44 Scotland St, No 1 Ladies Detective Agency and recently am pleased to see he has begun a new series The Perfect Passion Fating Company. Sounds fun.

  3. And thanks to you I’ve just been to the second hand bookshop and bought three Sunday Philosophy Clubs.

  4. I have many 44 Scotland Streets yet to read but the Isabel Dalhousie looks good too.

  5. That should read ‘Dating Company’ not ‘Fating Company’. But you knew that.

  6. It’s a long time since I’ve heard about or seen a book by Alexander McCall Smith. I have reviewed a couple of the No 1 Detective Agency books on my blog because there was a period when the latest in that series was my family holiday read. I would be it, and over a beach holiday my mum and Dad, mother in law, and husband would all read it – and then me. It was a lovely tradition. But then my ma-in-law died and traditions changed. I did enjoy the novels.

    I too have heard him speak, but it must have been before blogging OR I just didn’t write up those events then. He was delightful, talking about writing positive stories.

    My he is still prolific, according to Wikipedia, which has one book in the Perfect Passion Company series and it is listed as eBook only?

  7. Over here looks like the first volume The Perfect Passion Company is available in all formats. Then there are 2 “shorts”

    Cook for Me

    The Labourer in the VIneyard of Love. Both kindle only as far as I can see.

    BUT, as far as I can tell from looking at the kindle previews, they are part I and part 2 of the Perfect Passion Company BOOK with The Girl From Melbourne being the third part

    That sounds like a very great tradition.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.